Builds 1973 FJ40 New Project (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to the world of FJ40s. I always thought they were awesome, but I thought one would be unobtainable as popular and as rare as they are getting. Fortunately, I found out this old family owned '73 was available and I was able to purchase it from a family member. It has been in an old shed and probably hasn't run for nearly 20 years and it is rough. But I'm hoping I can nurse it back to life within the week and get it moved to another location under its own power. I have a little experience with old pickups, so I am hopeful I can get it running with my Dad's help.

I have tons of questions about this vehicle, but I have been trying to read on this forum a little before I post any up. If anyone reads through this, I'd be happy for any advice or tips with these old trucks.

My goal is for it to just get it running reliably and license it. I doubt I will take it off the family ranch much. Maybe an occasional trip to town down gravel roads. I don't have a small fortune to put into it (wish I could restore it to a pristine condition but that won't happen soon) so I'm hoping I can tinker away, tune things up, and just get it reliable. I don't even really want to lift it at this time (if ever) but a new top, door skins (or metal doors), and redone seats would be next basic things once it's running.

IMG_20211007_121759.jpg

IMG_20211007_121804.jpg

IMG_20211007_121811.jpg

IMG_20211007_121818.jpg

IMG_20211007_121831.jpg