Noobie First Post (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys. New user here. My 16 year old son and I are undertaking our first restoration/resto/Mod. We would love to stick with the classic Cruiser look but. It sure we have the budget for a straight up restoration. We would love your input and advice as we get started. We are working on a currently mostly stock ‘77 FJ40 with a good amount of rust. She runs and drives with is a big plus although stopping is a little dicey. We’ll be addressing the rust and the brakes first. Currently no doors at all but since we will be primarily targeting a beach home for her the doors are not a top priority. The floor pan is pretty thin and showing plenty of daylight but I think that the tub is largely salvageable. Love to here your thoughts on that?? Also, I have no welding experience but I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty and we are both pretty quick learners. Are there any good resources in the Mid Atlantic or upper Southeast for a tub restoration or any good places for fabrication that I should check out to piece her back together? Thanks in advance for all of your feedback.

AA334A24-7ECF-487D-98F3-ECC17F5B9663.jpeg

28F3B5EB-7460-4DC7-940D-6BBCC33D67BB.jpeg

055CF3A7-B7F2-4D37-ABE2-1E4CABDAE792.jpeg

23DED300-3391-401C-9BF7-3FC9E2E6E7C7.jpeg

5B83FE11-AD2A-4E91-97AC-CF46A9B020BD.jpeg

JOB 1: return color to Olive Green, oh, and welcome to Mud, where the off road goes on forever and the party never ends :flipoff2:
By the way, the location of the voltage regulator on the firewall, the carb cooler fan on driver side fender and the windshield wipers say the body is a 78.

Last edited: