Truck will not go into drive and reverse after messing with CDL and h-n-l selector (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all. Full disclosure i am an 80 series noob. I was attempting to engage my cdl for the first time so could pull the front drive shaft today and change ujoints next week. I could not get it to engage (i hit the switch a boat load of times) so i figured i would try messing with the h-n-l selector to determine if the cdl switch relay was bad. I thought I heard the cdl engaging but no light came on the dash. I then proceeded to shift into low multiple times, which was followed by grinding noises.

Now I can no longer put the truck in gear. Drive, reverse, and low do not work anymore and there is a grinding noise when i shift back into park.

Please help.

Hey all. Full disclosure i am an 80 series noob. I was attempting to engage my cdl for the first time so could pull the front drive shaft today and change ujoints next week. I could not get it to engage (i hit the switch a boat load of times) so i figured i would try messing with the h-n-l selector to determine if the cdl switch relay was bad. I thought I heard the cdl engaging but no light came on the dash. I then proceeded to shift into low multiple times, which was followed by grinding noises.

Now I can no longer put the truck in gear. Drive, reverse, and low do not work anymore and there is a grinding noise when i shift back into park.

Please help.
I'm an idiot everyone. H-L-N was in neutral and I had to force it into High.

Glad you found it, that was beginning to read like a disaster was eminent.

Oh and while we're here....
WELCOME TO MUD! :flipoff2: :flipoff2:

I'm an idiot everyone. H-L-N was in neutral and I had to force it into High.
Thanks for letting us know.

You do have a switch on the dash for CDL? What year is your truck? Some years came with it standard, others did not.