Durable Glowplugs for 2H with aftermarket turbo. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
HI all, newbie here.

HJ60 with a 2H with aftermarket turbo running 10.5 psi max. 12V system. I have a good busbar setup with custom copper rail and internal indication of power on the rail. It all works fine, but I seem to only get maybe 5 years out of glowplugs, and this is with use that is not every day, more like 5 times a month with a few starts thoughout that day.

Wondering members' thoughts on best glowplugs to buy that are perhaps more durable than others?

Also, I have always been curious that the supposed spec for glowplugs for my model are 6V. My system dips to a minimum of 10V when cranking with them and the other heaters fully on. Going on my dashboard indicator, the plugs appear to be getting full power all the time when on. ie not in series etc with other heaters. I've never been able to find a wiring diagram that fully matched what I have, so as well as asking about plugs that might suit a turbo'd 2H better, am also wondering if people could put up some diagrams of what they have for their old girl of this era. It is distinctly possible that "fiddling" was done with my girl before I acquired her, so I may have something incorrectly set up that I consider as standard. Perhaps the correct plug for me is truly a 12v one.....it has always seemed strange to me that the spec is 6V. A bit like coils with or without ballast resistors type of thing!

I've also pondered doing away with the temp related controls completely, and replacing them with fully manual operation. In some ways much better if one is in tune with ambient and what the engine needs. Pushbuttons working relays instead, run by the brain that only sometimes fails and generally self-repairs with a smack to the head accompanied by doh sounds!