Rear Disc Brake Conversion (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Has any one added a rear disc brake conversion to a 71 FJ40 from Spector Off Road? I am having problems with run out on my axle and run out with the rotors mounted. Paperwork say's runout with the rotor installed should be less tan .010 (measurements are in inches). My axle had a .035 run out on the truck so I took it to a friend with a lathe and on the lathe it was .015. He refaced the axle to where there is only .002 run out but when I put the axle back on the truck it was at .012 and with the rotor mounted it is at .019.

I am not a super mechanic and haven't worked on any thing since the early 70's and am just looking for some knowledge. Is the .019 runout on the rotor too much or can I go with it? If its not ok where do I look for the problem? I have a .010 difference between the lathe and just an installed axle and another .009 when the rotor is mounted. All of the surfaces are clean and smooth and the rotor appears to mount flush on the axle face.

Thanks for any help in advance.

I have always wondered why people spend the time, money, and effort doing a rear disc brake changeover. Probably 65% of the braking is on the front brakes. The rears are fine with drum brakes as long as your front discs are properly working. Better to spend the effort on the fronts and let the drums handle what little braking they need to do.

Rear drum brake adjustment effects the pedal height. Up until Toyota moved the emergency brake to the rear drums, their adjustment was manual. I trail ride a lot and I was constantly adjusting rear brakes and freeing frozen wheel cylders just to adjust them. Disc are brakes basically maintenance free.