Fuel Tank Pressure (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I live here in Albuquerque also depending on where you live we go from about 5300-6500 in elevation with summer temps around 90-100. I am new to the 80 but had the same problem with my 100 during the summer I try not to fill the tank all the way up and seems to reduce the boiling venting from the tank. When Maverick gas stations here carried straight unleaded I ran that with no issues so must be something to do with the ethanol heat and altitude. My mechanic is a 80 guy with several of them and told me never to top off the vehicle. 2 summers later and I don't get the venting or boiling in my 80 but I never fill it all the way up just around 3/4 of a tank.

Yeah interesting, I also have new cat. Works great and doesn't get nearly as hot as the OEM.
Nice. I'm planning to measure the exhaust back-pressure to see if mine are clogged. If the engine or exhaust is hotter than normal I could see that heat transfering into the gas tank and adding heat shield on the exhaust may help. One time when the gas tank was boiling I used an infrared thermometer to measure the outside temperature of the gas tank, it was 130 deg F as was everything else (or higher) in the heat-soaked under carriage. I wonder if the gasoline inside the tank was the same temperature or even hotter. If the gas in the return line is super hot and heating up the tank then maybe putting a cooler or insulation on the fuel line would help.

Here is a link for boiling points.
Ethanol boils at 172'F, Octane boils around 250'F. The partial pressure of ethanol will make the tank boil much sooner with an ethanol blend.