Can I save this 40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So the house I'm living in for at least the next year and a half has this fj40 in the garage. It hasn't been registered since 03 so it's been sitting for nearly 20 years, and it's got a pretty good amount of rust. I might be able to get it for free from the owner if I'm willing to put in the work to get it back in decent condition. So my question is, what would it take to get this thing back on the road? Obviously I can't get an exact answer through just pictures but if y'all had to guess does it even look like it's worth the work? I'm not a mechanic at all but I do enjoy working on my 80 and I've always wanted to have a project vehicle that I can take my time fixing up, so I'd be willing to learn whatever I need to. I'll attach pictures and thanks for the input!

IMG_5405.JPG

IMG_5406.JPG

IMG_0409.jpg

IMG_5409.JPG

IMG_9966 2.JPG

Doesn't look too bad to me, especially if you're just looking to get it back on the road...pretty sure that's better than what I started with body and frame wise. 🙃 The F engines are pretty simple as long as it's not locked up. Gonna need that rest of that rear axle though... 😆 I do appreciate the older models with the hood spear and the three on the tree...neat rig.

All depends on what you're aiming for...I bit off a full frame-off, and I'm looking like I'll end up having about 1000 hours into mine when I'm done, but that's a 100% soup to nuts project all done at home (frame, body, sandblasting, painting, engine rebuild, interior, etc). In this case, there's no hardtop and doors, and that was a fair amount of hours in itself for mine. I could almost see pulling the body to clean up the frame/drivetrain (it's pretty easy to get off the frame), but then leaning more toward a patina rig for the body with some tub patching.