FF vs SEMI FLOAT (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Pura Vida

What an absolute noob
Threads
What’s the difference between a full float and a semi float axle? I’m pretty sure I have double full floaters, but is that better than a FF front and SF rear, or are full floaters better....? What do they do exactly?

7F47472A-67EA-4DDF-B3C2-D3393F837F78.jpeg

The internet is your friend.

The internet is your friend.

Ye I was just asking because I saw a ton of conflicting info. Some were saying SF was stronger, some saying FF was stronger. Do you know if 40s came from the factory with FF rears? It looks like my rears are full floats. Not sure what axle it is

Remove the cap on the rear and take a picture. Fronts are all free floating.

US never got a rear FF in a 40 series. Australia they were standard from 75 on. Which market do you think Toyota figured needed a tougher rear axle and use that to decide which is stronger.

Remove the cap on the rear and take a picture. Fronts are all free floating.

US never got a rear FF in a 40 series. Australia they were standard from 75 on. Which market do you think Toyota figured needed a tougher rear axle and use that to decide which is stronger.
Mine is from CR, and the PO did a few restoration mods. My cruiser was also somewhat well specced because it had a radio and hazards. I don’t have the truck rn, but I should have it soon, and I’ll update the thread then. Do you know if Central American cruisers got FF rears?

Mine is from CR, and the PO did a few restoration mods. My cruiser was also somewhat well specced because it had a radio and hazards. I don’t have the truck rn, but I should have it soon, and I’ll update the thread then. Do you know if Central American cruisers got FF rears?