Axle breather extension ... Lots of pics (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Zooguy

SILVER Star
Threads
So this is a one banana job only took me around 4 hours to do this and I've never done it on a vehicle before.

I started at the rear which in my opinion was a little more difficult because I wanted to extend the axle breather all the way up to where the gas filler cap was located.

The factory front and rear axle breathers are fantastic with the exception that they are a one-way check valve so when the differential heats up and a little bit of pressure builds up inside it can vent that pressure but when the differential cools back off the check valve closes and you wind up with a little bit of a vacuum. Depending on several factors you potentially could suck water in from your axle seals because of this check valve style breather. So in the rear because I didn't tie it into the front breather I use just a simple lawn mower fuel filter to keep dirt and dust particles from working their way into the differential housing.

received_819891995606099.jpeg

Screenshot_20210411-232258.png

Screenshot_20210411-232319.png

So now at least in the rear I could potentially get into water all the way up to the fuel door without worrying about water getting into the rear differential

The transmission and center diff breathers connect to two hard lines attached to the transmission dipstick tube.
Screenshot_20210411-232429.png

Screenshot_20210411-232440.png

So after removing them I got some vacuum caps and plugged the hard lines because I wasn't able to see if they connected inside the transmission dipstick or if they were just attached to it with a bracket so to prevent any dust from potentially getting inside the dipstick tube I isolated it.
Screenshot_20210411-232453.png