LJ70- 2LTE Repair Adventure! :D (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ah Yesssss, holiday has finally arrived.
Time to tackle some of the problem on this old boi (My dad's car).

By no means I am a professional, but I believe I can do better than our local mechanics. :)
Had some previous experiences doing repair works and this forum has given me further confidence to do it myself.
Safety is of course the number one priority.
An advance apology for any mistake made during this adventure as am still learning. :b
Any tips and feedback will be great! :D

The things that I will try to tackle is listed below.
The list below is a result of accumulation over the years.
Some are either unsolvable after multiple trips to mechanics while some other are done improperly and causes more issues.
Other than that is all minor stuffs. Might do some upgrade? Haha
Perhaps this car is just too odd in my country? :b
Either way, it has cost too much time and money if continue to let them do it.

Listed by priority
Engine misfiring
Alternator inconsistent charging
Transmission (Automatic, A30-43LE) hard to shift to high gear
Rear trailing arm bushing failure
Power locking hub not working
Differential Lock not working
Speedometer jumping around
Interior cleaning :)
The list might be added on later.

Engine Misfiring
30/3/2020
It has been sometime since it is misfiring (since October 2020).
It vibrates badly and doesn't go away with varying RPM.
The check engine light was on and the code shown by self diagnostic of the ECU indicated a correction resistor fault.
Sure enough after inspection, the wire connecting the resistor has broken off due to hardening via old age...
As per @GTSSportsCoupe recommendation, I will solder a variable resistor some time soon. :)
As for now, I have trimmed the wire and use spade connector to connect the resistor but it keep falling off tho. :b