First Brake Job: Tips, Tricks, or Usefull info would be great (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

StaticTorque

SILVER Star
Threads
Here in the next couple of weeks I will be replacing both my rear brake calipers. One of them blew out and is leaking from the seals of the pistons. (Here's a link to how bad it leaks: ) Has anyone seen a caliper this bad? I am new to working on my own vehicle so this was a surprise to see. The DS rear caliper seemed to be a little wet, so I decided to replace them both with brand new OEM brake caliper. Will also be replacing the copper washers when taking the caliper off, new pads and rotors. Will be replacing the e brake system too. I have to replace the LSPV as well since I found out that is leaking as well. Also replacing all studs on the axle.

As this is my first brake job I will be doing, looking for any help or other info I should know. Done lots of reading on Mud but still have some questions, I do have a FSM that I will be going off of as well when replacing everything.

Some questions I have:
In what order do I need to bleed the system? I have seen PS rear, DS rear, LSPS, PS front, DS front. But I have also seen PS rear, DS rear, PS front, DS front, LSPV.
What brake bleeder do you guys recommend? I heard the LSPV is a pain in the a*s to bleed. Will be doing the two person method.
How hard is it to replace the LSPV? Anything to know before hand?

Last edited:
SNIP

Some questions I have:
In what order do I need to bleed the system? I have seen PS rear, DS rear, LSPS, PS front, DS front. But I have also seen PS rear, DS rear, PS front, DS front, LSPV.
SNIP