Rust vs Reward (1 Viewer)

Too much rust?

• Total voters

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I found my dream 100 series for what seemed to be a reasonable price (6.6K prob negotiable down to $5800) right near me (New Jersey)

Body looks great. Good color. Ran decently. But... BUT when the snow cleared and I got underneath I was horrified by the rust I saw.

please help, I’m no expert, so is this a run-don’t-walk situation or does the rust not matter / can be remediate at the above price.
4948BBD0-0EE7-4E05-A608-8E6192EE698A.jpeg

ED010AB0-53BC-4C82-95A3-60DE78B26B7D.jpeg

77504D05-3D25-4DDE-A6DD-AB0870AA484F.jpeg

73632FBA-0EB3-4934-B700-15474F693638.jpeg

Too far gone. When there are holes in the frame and support beams and crossmembers are about to drop to the ground the vehicles should be scrapped and sold for parts.

Reactions: GTV
Unless you get that for SUPER cheap, I'd say run away. Believe it or not, all of the frame cross members are still available as service parts. If a section is really rusted, you can cut that part out and weld in the new (OEM toyota) crossmember. However, doing that will most likely cost close to the price of the truck and is rarely worth it.

On a side note, I think I met you the other day at the parts counter. The picture of my truck in your avatar was the give away. Welcome to the site! Keep looking around on here and I'm sure you'll find one in that price range in better shape.

Poke at that spot and any others that look similar, If your poker goes through it, hard pass. Maybe 2500$

also don’t certain states have annual inspections where frame damage to a Certain extent will result in a fail. If your state has that I would be mildly concerned.