Is my exhaust flange too far gone? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

PNWTreeOctopus

SILVER Star
Threads
I’m in the middle of replacing my 93’s exhaust gaskets. Pipes are original, and seem to be in good shape. After hitting all my gasket and mating surfaces with a wire wheel I’m just not sure how well things are going to seal up. I’m new at exhaust, so I don’t really have anything to compare it to. These surfaces obviously have defects, but am I living in a dream thinking they will seal up?
80CE21A6-153E-44C8-A43E-549CEF8AEC27.jpeg

I’m already in for the cost of all the gaskets down stream if the manifold, plus a new walker muffler. Like I said this is my first exhaust rodeo and I’m hoping to learn from the wisdom of the community on this.

The donut gaskets will seal on those surfaces. Yours look about like my 93 exhaust did when I redid it. You’ll be pleased with the Walker muffler.

Thank you, I appreciate a second look. I decided to go for the new walker muffler after reading about your experienc with them. I’m also hoping that my whistle upon acceleration will be solved with it too.

The replacement muffler solved my whistle back in 2017. The muffler is fairly tough. I smashed mine pretty good while winching over a huge downed tree in the Gifford Pinchot forest last summer and hung together, no leaks.

Suggestions for the 02 sensor gasket remnants? I’m going to go after it with the little dremel and maybe some micro files..this is after the wire wheel on the corded drill.
BCD3E1E0-FA9F-4C0E-A9F3-3962FA9EF089.jpeg

A stiff wire wheel is as aggressive as I’d go with powered tools. That looks like it could be scraped off with a razor blade and/or putty knife.

If you're looking at saving money at this point like I was with my 93 exhaust, you can slap some exhaust puddy on any leaks you end up with to get you by for a couple more years until you can replace the enchilada.