Weird occasional non-start issue. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So yesterday my truck decided to not start at first. Turn key everything comes on normal as expected, battery is at 16 amps, Turn key all the way over and nada. No noise no nothing. Try a few times all same.

Open hood, because I work in the auto industry with dudes who try and be funny and all seems normal. Shut hood come back starts right up. Stop at grocery, starts right up no issues.

This morning first key turn nada, second starts right up.

Truck has no underlying health issues, runs perfect. Never did anything. This sound like the ignition switch?

There is / was no stater noise and its never struggled to start so I kinda ruled that out. Anything else to look into?

I'd first clean and tighten the battery terminals, maybe trickle charge the battery to make sure its in top shape, load test it too if you can. Then if still an issue, consider it could be the contacts inside the starter. It's not that the starter motor gets weak and cranks slowly, its that the electrical contacts in the solenoid get burnt up and can't quite bridge the gap at first.

I'd first clean and tighten the battery terminals, maybe trickle charge the battery to make sure its in top shape, load test it too if you can. Then if still an issue, consider it could be the contacts inside the starter. It's not that the starter motor gets weak and cranks slowly, its that the electrical contacts in the solenoid get burnt up and can't quite bridge the gap at first.
Battery terminals looked good, and dash gauge holds 16amps so I assumed it was good but battery is old.

I was listening for starter issues and didnt consider it just cant make the metaphysical jump and just went right to ig switch being the culprit. Any way to test the starter solenoid, anything TS can see that might point in that direction.