Upgrades for off roofing my 1999 Lexus lx 470 (5 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I have a 1999 Lexus lx 470. I am new to the off roading world and wanted some help with a few upgrades that I could possibly do. This Lexus IS also my daily driver so I don’t want to do anything that would effect it’s performance too much on the road. I mostly drive it on the road but I also occasionally take it to the snow, muddying, and camping. I also don’t want to do anything that would destroy it from being original like drilling hole and what not. I am looking first for new rims and bigger tires. I currently have the stock rims and some tires that fit them. I am not sure how big of tires I can get without needing a lift kit, it wearing down the car too much, or effecting the smooth drive. Second, I am looking for a bumper I think I have found one that I like but if anyone has any recommendations that would be appreciated. Third, I am looking for a light bar, or light boxes that I could get without having to drill any holes into my car. Thanks!

welcome to mud

Plenty of bumper, lift, light discussions:

:deadhorse:

It will do what you need it to do stock. Drive it, learn it, and then start adjusting where you need. You do not need bumpers, etc. for a long time, if at all. Good recovery gear, up to date maintenance and a factory spare with air in it will get you more places than most ever take their land cruisers. A tool kit with the right items, an air pump and reasonable emergency kit will also go a long way to keeping you safe.

Despite what the youtube and instashammers tell you, you do not need to spend twice what the car is worth to go camp or off-road with it. It's promoted by them for money from the sponsors who give them free stuff to then sell you the myth that you need all of it.