Another over the frame exhaust thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Nice work! Got any tips for welding exhaust? I'm thinking about doing mine too but I'm a new welder and have heard exhaust can be tricky.

Nice work! Got any tips for welding exhaust? I'm thinking about doing mine too but I'm a new welder and have heard exhaust can be tricky.

Use .023 wire! I had to use .030 because I had about 20lbs of it and only 2lbs of .023 and that little roll doesn't fit in the big welder. I found it way easier to use the smaller wire. The other thing is weld as much as you can on the bench, you can see the welds I did lying on my back burning the crap out of myself...

Thanks for taking the time to post the build thread. Did you end up using all 2-1/4"? I was looking at mine and wondering if I could use a bit larger tube and squash it oval to create more free space between the floor and the exhaust.

Thanks for taking the time to post the build thread. Did you end up using all 2-1/4"? I was looking at mine and wondering if I could use a bit larger tube and squash it oval to create more free space between the floor and the exhaust.

I ended up using 2-1/4 the whole way, I could find zero evidence to suggest that larger diameter would pipe would actually make any difference in performance. For the part that goes over the frame, it is pretty tight as is, plus I wrapped it with two layers to try and keep the floor a bit cooler so with even 2.5 it would be touching.

P.S. I have an extra 6" round muffler if you want, I bought two to see the difference.

Did you remove the rear heater completly?