Rebuilt Carb - First start attempt is a no-go (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Oy. IM is on the back side closer to valve cover. Idle speed is closer to the right side tucked in at the base of the carb. The screw seats down on a metal linkage. You can see the linkage move as you tighten the screw in.

Both the front and back adjusters were put all the way in, then backed out 2-3 turns, both pressing the metal against it.

Apologies for the novice questions. I have been working on FI engines for nearly 20 years, but this is my first endeavor into the carb world.

Appreciate your help big time. I will double check them all in the morning.

Last edited:
Both the front and back adjusters were put all the way in, then backed out 2-3 turns, both pressing the metal against it.

Apologies for the novice questions. I have been working on FI engines for nearly 20 years, but this is my first endeavor into the carb world.

Appreciate your help big time. I will double check them all in the morning.
It’s all good. I was there not that long ago. My apologies writing ‘oy.’

1607781643669.png

These pictures may be hard to figure out the carb orientation and thus hard to use. You should be able to locate the 4 vacuum lines going into the carb on the valve cover side to get your bearings and thus figure out where the screws are. The AC Idle up is the easiest one to spot and to get access to. Its on the front of the carb. There is a big vacuum pot with a relay arm coming off where the screw sits. I don't think thats important here for you now, but just for future reference.

Some adjustments can be found here in this post: