Kenwood TM-V71A dual-band ham radio install (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.overlandlady.com
Hi folks, noobie here...

Long story short I brought my 100 back to Canada after my year of touring around Australia.. I had an Australian CB radio which was pre-tuned to its 40 (or maybe 80?) UHF channels.

In Canada, however, people mostly use VHF so I always have difficulty asking others to tune into my Aussie CB channels.
Handheld Baofeng just doesn't give you the range you need.
Been looking around for a unit and came down to the Kenwood TM-V71A. I'm still a radio noob but since most of the members in a local radio club run this unit, I reckon it wouldn't be bad. It's a UHF/VHF dual-band unit.
Kenwood-TM-V71A install-1920.jpg

NMO Mount
Using a Comet 2X4SR antenna with a spring adaptor for it.
Made a video for the whole install hope it helps.

Straight mounted on the dash under my dashmat and changed screen color to match the vehicle center console..
Now I just need to program it to have the Resource Road channel preset in BC.
TopNotchMapOnDash-4.jpg

Since I didn't want to take the Aussie CB out and leaving the Comet antenna in front of my eyes is a bit annoying, I'm thinking of moving the antenna to the passenger outer side of the bar. Anyone running an antenna bracket on the ARB bar (other than the bar's own mounting tabs)? Does it stay well? I'm a bit concerned that it may spin. Another way is to grind off some powder coat and weld a tab on it but that's a bit of effort..

That is a nice, easy to use radio. I have it's big brother, the TM-D710.

No opinion on running your antenna on the ARB bar; I mounted mine on a rear spare tire carrier (not a 100-series) and it works well enough.

@Overland Lady - Welcome to MUD. Great install video.