Advice on rear bumper build LX470 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Looks like you've got this well under control! Great progress.

My only comment would be that (in particular on the wing connections) is try shorter stitches to keep heat down with the thinner gauge you're using. My experience is that when I get a lot of heat into work like this I end up with more movement and 'warping' than I'd like and my fitment ends up wonky.

Thanks, it's been a great learning experience for sure. I do plan to weld small sections in opposing areas to keep the heat from getting too concentrated in one spot. Hopefully it doesn't warp up too much.

I'm not looking forward to the final phase .......painting......IH8PAINT. I am not good at it at all. I can never seem to get an even coat with spray paint. Any tips on that would be greatly appreciated. I usually wipe the whole thing down with mineral spirits, apply primer, then paint.

Thanks, it's been a great learning experience for sure. I do plan to weld small sections in opposing areas to keep the heat from getting too concentrated in one spot. Hopefully it doesn't warp up too much.

I'm not looking forward to the final phase .......painting......IH8PAINT. I am not good at it at all. I can never seem to get an even coat with spray paint. Any tips on that would be greatly appreciated. I usually wipe the whole thing down with mineral spirits, apply primer, then paint.

Depends how nice of a finish you're looking for!

My recommendation is bring it to a local powder shop. I've painted a lot of my own stuff over the years and after paint, supplies, time invested, etc...you can typically get something simple like this powder coated for the same price and have a more durable, even finish.