Diff Rebuild - Solid pinion spacer or crush sleeve? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

DivByZero

SILVER Star
Threads
Hi guys, I'm in the planning stages for a future rebuild of my front and rear diffs on a 1996 HZJ80, without lockers and with the factory LSD (axle code K295). No major warning signs of problems right now, but they haven't been serviced by me in the 3 years I've had it, and I doubt the previous owners ever did an oil change on them. Since I plan to keep this beast going for another 10+ years, I've been going through rebuilding and replacing things progressively, and the front and rear diffs are due for their turn soon. I'll be doing all the work myself. I'm not a qualified mechanic, just a slow and methodical amateur who likes to use the right tools and quality parts. So far I've been building my "shopping list" of parts to get, and dissecting instructions and youtube videos from people far more experienced than me. Right now I have a question, and I figured I'd ask it here to get some opinions. It's a bit of an open question, but here it is:

What do you think of using solid pinion spacers in the diffs, instead of the crush sleeves Toyota went with in the 80 series?