To thermostat or not to thermostat (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Wow. I didn't check for a bit and seems like you guys had fun.

Not too sure about how we are going to use protons to figure out this issue. The quote "All models are wrong, some models are useful" comes to mind. With that being said, I'll do my best to work through what the group comments and attempt a logical thought pathway. I fully admit I am a metallurgical engineer and not a mechanical, chemical, or heat transfer engineer and, transport phenomena (heat transfer was a topic) was the only class I didn't pass. But that was because of personal problems with the professor (he was an as hat and I wasn't gonna study that). But I digress...

@Steamer way cool test. To me, this data point confirms running without a thermostat results in more efficient transfer of heat from the engine to the radiator fluid. However, there is one issue with the test and trying to apply it to our engine operation. The issue is that your garden hose is an open system with an infinite heat sink where as my radiator system is closed loop with a maximum heat capacity above which the radiator fluid boils.

Just to clarify for myself, my engineering brain thinks ok we have:
1) heat transfer rate from engine into radiator fluid and
2) heat loss rate from radiator.

Radiator fluid flow rate doesn't effect either, unless we activate another fluid flow regime (laminar vs turbulent flow). check.

Question 1: Does flow variation affect heat gain from the engine? Yes. As @Steamer showed, increased flow increases heat transfer into the fluid.