What a Trip... What a Truck! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Mudders!

I'm assuming you don't have to try very hard to remember the day you brought home your first rig... and perhaps more vividly than you can recall the details of other major life milestones, but let's not think about that. - I became a rig owner for the first time this past weekend and, much like yourselves, will never forget the experience. I am relatively new to the obsession, and have been searching for an ideal family heirloom cruiser. This is a homecoming story, maybe you can relate.

Chapter 1: "Viva Las Vegas"

Fellow Mudders @satchel and @1tiredpapa have been helping with my search, and when the right rig popped up in the forums, they pounced. @satchel was going to buy it regardless, because one of us had to own this machine, but he gave me first dibs because he is the kind of friend I hope you all have someday. The problem is, I didn't carry my phone with me on the job that day, so when these guys found it, I didn't know until I finally checked my phone. 4 Hours later.

So I discover 90 unread text notifications, and only 1 from my wife which stated, "I just got a call from @satchel's wife, she said you guys are buying a truck and wants to know how you wanna work it out..??".
So yeah, I had some catching-up to do.
Followed by some explaining, for sure.
Yeah, absolutely some explaining.
(spoiler alert: wife's reaction was "Go get our new truck, See ya Sunday!")

Here's the low-down:
  • 1997 LX450, 206k miles (head rebuilt at 170k)
  • Factory 3X Lockers
  • Slinky 3" coils w/ 1" spacers
  • 35" A/T Falkens on Raceline wheels
  • Original interior and dash components
  • Constant preventive maintenance all around (we'll get to that in a moment)