Got a '99 LX in very rough condition.... I might have made a big mistake? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Look like an overseas (japan) vehicle so those bumpers and flares might not be available here

There is an ARB sticker on the front bumper but I have no experience with them lol
Gotcha, thank you. I have looked a bit at ARB but so far I have not seen a bumper there that I like. I like the clean look and not all the bars in front of the light and grill, though they might come in handy one day. This will be way down the road as well

The peeps above have given you some good advice, so I’ll not run through the list of items. To reiterate - everything you’ve listed is fixable, and if you’re mechanically inclined, then you can do it for relatively cheap. However, Taking it to a shop to repair those items will rapidly exceed the costs of what you paid for the truck (btw, $3.5k is a good price in the currently inflated market).

The photos of the “ideal” Cruiser that you posted are atypical. That guy is in Japan and running 37s, which he stuffed using a combination of suspension “lift”, body lift, fender cutting, and tubbing. He also regeared both diffs. The front bumper is an ARB Sahara that he removed the hoop from. No idea where he got the flares. Collectively, achieving this will cost $$$$. Definitely not the best use of your cash right now, considering the dilapidated condition of your cruiser. Focus on baselining first, in the immediate future.

Also, consider joining our local Cruiser club, Copper State Cruisers and