Advice Needed! Trying to rebuild my LJ78 with 1UZ Engine (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone,

I am new to this space and trying to get some help from more seasoned land cruiser owners/car experts regards to rebuilding my LJ78. I purchased my LJ78 without an engine or transmission and I am considering to do a 1UZ swap into it. As of right now, I have an 1UZ engine, with complete wiring, ECU, and A340E transmission. But the part I am stuck on trying to find the best option (trying to keep the cost to a minimum) for my LJ to keep the 4x4 capability. From the research I've done in the past week I believe these are my options with my current knowledge on this subject (not in any order);

1: I can pair my 1UZ + A343F (stock LJ78 trans) + LJ78 transfer case
*with this pairing, I am not sure if my Lexus LS400 ECU will pickup and link well with LJ78 transmission and T case (there is a person I can get the stock ECT from along with stock wiring, but with that being said I am not sure if Lexus ECU will pick up the stock ECT and would that require me to get a different after market ECU... or does it not matter)
2: 1UZ + A340E (The transmission that my 1UZ current is attached to) + T100 transfer case
*I've read that this is a very viable option as well since I can find A340F transmissions from T100's and certain year of 4Runners and Tacomas that has the 3.4L 5vz engine

I am not just considering these two options... this is just what I've come up with weeding through countless threads and websites. I am completely open to different ideas or even a manual swap if that is possible while trying to do this with a budget. Anything will be seriously appreciated.

Once I can get my LJ78 rolling, I would love to travel the road with it and make it my everyday rig!

Again, thank you so much for reading this! Cheers

Hi everyone,