Thoughts on modifying stock rear bumper (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Okay so I'm thinking about modifying my stock rear bumper. I want to put a swing arm on it to carry a 2 Jerry cans and a tire (33). I figure I'll bolt it on and weld it as well. I took a screen shot of the one I was thinking of adding. If this is a stupid idea please let me know. I am new to this stuff and am trying to save some money by modifying my current stuff instead of spending 2000+ on a new set of bumpers. Please share your thoughts! Thank you in advance.
Screenshot_20200827-095023_Chrome.jpg

I don't think you will be happy with it. The stock bumper does not have enough structural integrity to hold a swing arm, especially one that long (it seems to be a single swing arm that will span the length of the rear bumper. Someone used to make a tire carrier that would bolt to the top and bottom of the bumper--really using the frame extensions as it's mount. But it would only hold a tire. Usually the swing are pivots are out at the end of the bumper (beyond where the tail gate is) and frame extensions are inside of that.

Do a search for rear bumpers--there are a lot of threads in this forum. I don't think there is any example of someone mounting a swing arm onto the stock bumper. Save up for an aftermarket rear bumper with swing arm(s).

Okay so I'm thinking about modifying my stock rear bumper. I want to put a swing arm on it to carry a 2 Jerry cans and a tire (33). I figure I'll bolt it on and weld it as well. I took a screen shot of the one I was thinking of adding. If this is a stupid idea please let me know. I am new to this stuff and am trying to save some money by modifying my current stuff instead of spending 2000+ on a new set of bumpers. Please share your thoughts! Thank you in advance. View attachment 2417860