Migrated from 4wd to 2wd: Lockers or traction boards or what? Need help guys! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good day guys!

I’m from the Philippines and I recently came from an hdj80 landcruiser and a hilux, and now find myself with a 2020 Toyota Fortuner 4x2 diesel AT(hiluxed based suv, but basically suspension and engine is practically bolt on to a prado 120/1) and I have a big dilemma!

Since I’m now driving a 4x2 I thought my trail days were behind me but I find myself trying to still offroad. So now I’m looking at whether an arb air locker in the rear would be a good investment considering its high cost. Either that or i can just do traction/recovery boards which are significantly cheaper to do but less sexy hahaha. With my new family and starting career as a lawyer I find myselfdriving on-road 99% of the time and have to find reasons like camping etc to go offroad unlike before. So I’m wondering if an arb locker would be a justifiable investment jn a 4x2 or should i just save up and buy a dedicated trail rig like an older landcruiser prado 120 or an older fortuner.

ive currently setup my 2020 Fortuner with toughdog 2” lift coil springs, Bilstein B6 4600 offroad shocks (yesthe proper 2” lift lengths), 285/70/17 KO2 (C load), and a tjm snorkel. Would this be enough to compensate for a 2wd open diff or what? LSD isnt an option since there arent any LSDs for my diff. (Rear diff uses a 12 bolt 32” axle spline and is around 8.9”)

9B030EC2-CA76-4896-B9FF-713E3824455D.jpeg

238A8E71-1162-4669-AF6F-9EF42F067CEC.jpeg

And heres my old favorite 80 series clocked in at 550000 kms before selling (1hdt never required an overhaul)

5A3022D3-80FB-4596-B1DC-97C9AFED6101.jpeg

Looks good! Very unique for this forum!
Regarding traction, do you have any of the factory traction control electronics?