Camping...... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi - Newbie here - I've just bought a 2000 LC 100, 180k miles. Its totally standard, been well looked after and does not drop a spot of fluid on the driveway. Main reason for purchase was to be able to access rougher campsites with our pop-up camper - currently using a Yukon XL (which is good for towing but limited ground clearance). The mods I have identified that need done immediately before camping can commence are as follows:

1/ 7 pin electric tow socket (have a kit coming from etrailer) - includes an electronic brake controller
2/ Rear air bags (inside coil) to assist with camper tongue weight
3/ Remove running boards
4/ Replacing heater tees
5/ AT tires - 285/75/16

(Timing belt + water pump were done at 150k so should be good)

I'd like to put in the ubiquitous OME lift but probably down the road when I am feeling more flush....

I'm definitely not building an overland vehicle - the vehicle is a means to an end.... Now you have the background I'd very much appreciate your input re. relevant experience / suggestions. eg Is it necessary to remove the running boards? - much thx

ZyOXmzuMRauYBNm+PhJrIw.jpg

Welcome. I'd browse through the FAQ and spend some time in the pic thread and what have you done this week thread. Those are great places for ideas on maintenance and what others have done with their rigs. As for the running boards, not "necessary" to remove them, most do as an appearance/clearance thing. Drive it as is and see if you need to.

Running boards, been there done that...

I would leave running boards on for following reasons:
A) act as an early warning system that your rocker panels are in danger. So what if u bang/bend 'em. Bending, unless extreme, won't hurt rps.
B) the step function is much appreciated.