4.5 wont start (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys , First time posting here , im new to this so forgive me if im posting in wrong place, ive had a quick search but cant find my answer

i have a 94 80 series 4.5 petrol, driving to work yesterday and it stopped no surging or anything , just lights on dash came on and now wont start at all, im not great at testing things so first thing i did was replace rotor button and dizzy cap, it Has fuel and and i cracked the banjo nut on engine side of fuel filter and when trying to start car fuel squirts out so its getting fuel , i pulled first two spark plugs out and they both have spark , ive pulled most plugs apart and sprayed them with contact cleaner , still not starting , just winds over , ive checked all fuses in fuse box under dash and in engine bay, im really lost, please help!
Thanks in advance.

If you are CERTAIN you have fuel and spark, then it should at least try to start from that perspective (fuel, air, spark needed to start/run). However, a failed TPS, CPS or other sensor (or even the ECU itself) could be your trouble, as these need to be working properly. I would also check the simple things like ALL grounds.

You didn't happen to 'fill up' your tank just before this happened did you? (Water in fuel).

I think it best at this juncture to put a scanner on it and see if any Trouble Codes are present. This might help give us some direction. Lots of knowledgeable folks here that can help, but we will need a little detective work on your part along the way as we work to solve your issue.

Welcome to MUD.