BJ74 AC Issues- advice? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm not an AC expert. If it was a standard over the counter AC compressor I'd probably just take it to a shop, but for now I'm trying to figure out what's up with my AC before I just start blindly throwing parts at it or take it in. My AC on my BJ74 was non-op when I got it but everything seemed to work. I had a buddy of mine convert it to R134 and it worked alright, like converted ACs tend to do. I didn't use the AC for months over the winter, fired it up for the first time this summer and at first it was weak, then non existent. It appears the clutch is engaging and the idle up is still happening, so I'm trying to figure out what my next step should be before I either just wrenching or take it to an AC place. The nose of the compressor is a bit greasy but it's an old truck and it kinda matches the general theme of everything else under the hood that hasn't been replaced. All of the connections in the system are dry.

Should I-
A. Throw some stop leak and jam a can of coolant into it and see what happens?
B. Assume I have a bad compressor and proceed with just replacing the compressor?
C. Just take it to an AC shop and have them diagnose

Thank you

I took mine to an AC shop. I gave them a new compressor and they swapped the 24V clutch.
They insisted on filling it with real Freon (R12?) since that is what it was designed to use.
I was told the trick is to make sure to use the ac at least once/week all year round to keep o-rings lubed and tight.

Check if you can see bubbles in the viewport at the front of the truck with the AC on as a first data point. That'll confirm the AC idle up is happening due to enough pressure [it won't idle and no clutch if absolutely empty] with /something/ in the system, even if it's low. Then throw a new can of R134 into it from the autoparts store to top it off.