Builds Mercedes OM606 Turbodiesel into FZJ80 - engine refresh and more turbo fun (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I’ve been looking at putting an om617 vs 606 in my boat and had heard stories about head issues on the 606 but I have no experience, just internetery research. Any problems with warping head or sealing up the mls?

I’ve been looking at putting an om617 vs 606 in my boat and had heard stories about head issues on the 606 but I have no experience, just internetery research. Any problems with warping head or sealing up the mls?

Not sure about the 617 but the turbo 606 doesn't really have head gasket problems. I've removed and reinstalled the head (for other reasons) a few times on my engine and it's never had any problems.

Update: if you see reference to engine speed anywhere in this thread, the numbers are wrong. I can't believe it, but this whole time, I've had the frequency input for the engine speed signal reading 5 pulses/2 revs. It should be 6. So the actual RPM I've been running is 5/6th of what was displayed in the DAQ. Things make much more sense now.

The 603 was know for cracking heads - late 80's. Mercedes replaced pretty much every 603 head under warranty. If your ever looking at one you can Google it and tell from the casting # on the head if you have a good one. I don't know much about the 606.

The 603 was know for cracking heads - late 80's. Mercedes replaced pretty much every 603 head under warranty. If your ever looking at one you can Google it and tell from the casting # on the head if you have a good one. I don't know much about the 606.

Yep, I had a 300SDL with a #14 head a few years ago.

The 606 never had issues with head cracking though. Really they don't have any major "known" issues other than problems removing glow plugs.