How small tires can you run on a LandCruiser? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.inditravel.org
I have a HZJ78 Troopy that currently is fitted with 285/75-16 BFG Mud tires. I dont like them at all. The car is used for overlanding in Europe, Asia and later maybe, Africa. I have been doing overlanding for 10 years in my old car, a HDJ80 fitted with 285/75-16 BFG AT tires.
First of all, I dont like the Mud pattern. When overlanding I would say 80% of the driving is on gravel or tarmac. The Muds are noisy, but worst of all, braking efficiency is terrible. I guess fuel mileage is also bad. With the 80 and AT's I have been in rather muddy conditions without a stop. Both cars have lockers all around and that helps. So Muds go off in favor of AT.
But then, what size? The somewhat provoking title suggest I believe this "biggest size possible" is a hype. I have been reading around, and what seems to be experienced people say skinny tires are the best for all round use, except for glaciers on Iceland. The 78, even with a turbo and IC seems to be to high geared for the 285 size.
The problem is that I have never tested skinny tires as both cars where fitted with 285 when i purchased them.
235/85-16 seems to be a good choice, but since my rims are steel 8 inches they are to narrow. Good rims are expensive, so I am thinking on 275/75-16.
What do you think?

My cruiser collection for attention:

IMG_9292.JPG

215/65R16 if you go with BFG all terrains

Not the same case as I have a FJC but I went from 295/75r16 to 255/85r16 and I am smitten. They are so much better on and offroad.

I would suggest trying to get some 7" wide rims and go with the 235s or 255s if you want a little more height.