My Valvetrain is Incredibly Filthy - What to do? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Thats not bad but I've seen people run 1 qt of transfluid with their oil and then change the oil after a week or so. Be prepared for a smoke show

Looks like average valve cover. Install as others has said and go drive it. Don't overthink it, it's fine.

Close it up and run Diesel engine oil from now on. Will clean it up in time.

I can’t find pics,
But when I cracked open my valve cover the insides looked every clean. At the time I had about 300k. I have been running Rotella 5-40 for the last 10 years and will run a can of sea foam in the oil a few days before I drain it.

I can’t find pics,
But when I cracked open my valve cover the insides looked every clean. At the time I had about 300k. I have been running Rotella 5-40 for the last 10 years and will run a can of sea foam in the oil a few days before I drain it.

I forgot to mention I used seafoam in the oil before some oil changes. Some say it’s “Snake oil” but works great on everything I used it on.

I feel it that it actually works. I don’t think it’s a “fix anything fluid” but it has its purpose and it always works for what I use it for.

As people mentioned that a higher detergent oil helps. I think it does.
15-40 Rotella. I however do think at some point the HG was previously done due to paint marks on the timing gear. I could be wrong.

172,000 with last 25,000 miles on with Rotella

View attachment 2270077

View attachment 2270078

Do you mean the HG was done on your motor or on mine? Because I'm fairly certain it hasn't ever been done on mine.

Also, be sure to look up the torque spec on those VC bolts. It's very low and it's easy to snap them off.