Question on Locking Diff (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All,

I am a newbie to this forum and to LCs. Have been researching 80s. Had a question with regards to the factor locking diff that came on the 93 to 97. From what I have been able to see, is the option just to have the rear locked or have both the front and rear locked? Or is there also an option to have just the front locked? And is that something that is even advisable?

On the stock dial, there is no way to have just the front locked.

Hi All,

I am a newbie to this forum and to LCs. Have been researching 80s. Had a question with regards to the factor locking diff that came on the 93 to 97. From what I have been able to see, is the option just to have the rear locked or have both the front and rear locked? Or is there also an option to have just the front locked? And is that something that is even advisable?
My suggestion is to buy an unlocked version, then add the lockers. You can then run them however you like. The future problem of the OEM E-Lockers is the parts availability.

If you do aftermarket, such as ARB or Harrop, then they should have a few years of spare parts.

Makes sense. Thank you. I will start looking around and finding out what is available. Based on reading some other coments on this group, I think I will first and foremost focus on a cruiser that it clean and has good maintenance records and hopefully lower mileage. If it then happens to have lockers, awesome. If not, I will look at doing some after market if I need.

Makes sense. Thank you. I will start looking around and finding out what is available. Based on reading some other coments on this group, I think I will first and foremost focus on a cruiser that it clean and has good maintenance records and hopefully lower mileage. If it then happens to have lockers, awesome. If not, I will look at doing some after market if I need.