Builds The LF40 Wheeler Build - Twin Turbo & 8 Speed Auto FJ40 (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I've been meaning to teach myself Solidworks for a while. I have just never got around to it. It is also free for students and I have it downloaded, but I just need to give myself some time for me to learn it.
I'm not sure how similar it is to OnShape as I have never used it but I'm sure the basics would be intuitive. There are tons of Solidworks tutorials on YouTube. I even have to reference them sometimes if I need to do something that I have never done before. Even after 17 years I have not come close to using SW to it's fullest potential.

Here is a little something I have been working on for a couple of hours.

I really like the stubby bumpers on the 40s, so I am going to make one for this build.

It has an integrated light bar mount that I hope will be somewhat hidden. I also like the idea of the node bar to protect the radiator if you roll.

The winch mount is meant for the Warn 8724. The pull point is a little higher than I would like, but it would work. It also has the dual pull hole on the bottom plate so you could theoretically winch backwards if you need to.

fb front.PNG

fb side.PNG

fb top.PNG

fb topt.PNG

Here is the file.

Last edited:
I'm not sure how similar it is to OnShape as I have never used it but I'm sure the basics would be intuitive. There are tons of Solidworks tutorials on YouTube. I even have to reference them sometimes if I need to do something that I have never done before. Even after 17 years I have not come close to using SW to it's fullest potential.

It looks similar, but I'm sure there are a lot of subtle differences that make you want to pull hair out when you can't figure them out.

@Drake2 @DangerNoodle