Rod Knock on rebuilt 2H engine (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I recently (3 months ago) rebuilt my 2H engine on my 1989 60 Series Cruiser. Complete rebuild, sleeves to OEM oil pump. Everything on STANDARD spec. decent parts
REASON FOR REBUILD: poor compression noticeable from tappet cover breather and sludge buildup in motor oil. Also intend to supercharge with an Eaton M90 (pending)
I'm no mechanic but have built a number of engines before. Still no messing around with the sensitive things I contracted a mechanic for the rebuild, an old timer with lots of experience specifically older diesel engines.
Rebuild was smooth and perfect. Perfect start, ran beautifully, extremely satisfied save an oiling problem on the rockers (the reason i bought the oil pump) - still no improvement - ended up being wear in the grooves of the rocker shaft - pulled one off another 2H - problem solved!
Did the routine standard running in and drove as usual for about a month - no issues - no concerns whatsoever until the day before I was due to make +900 km trip deep into remote Africa for work! CLEARLY A KNOCK FROM THE ENGINE! I really must have some angels watching over me 😅😅😅
Desperate to find out what was wrong I got mechanic in to check everything eventually dropping the sump to inspect the cranckshaft and to my horror i was able to shake the conrods a little without much effort (up, down and sideways). Loosened the conrod bolts (still torqued and very secure so thats ruled out) to have a look at bearings which showed visible wear (no copper though), even more than the old ones removed for rebuild! see attached photos