My FZJ80 journey begins... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I just bought a CE 1997 FZJ80 from @flow. He was generous enough to sell me the fruits of his labors. The advert can be seen here.

IMG_20191001_161051.jpg

I'm not new to Toyota's, but I am a fairly novice mechanic. I've previously owned a 1995 Pickup, 1985 FJ60 (all too briefly), and a 1988 Samurai (that was mostly Toyota). I've been hunting for the right LC for awhile now, and I'm sorry if I wasted anyone's time in the classifieds section here at mud.

Things I'm looking to take care of first and foremost:
  • Tires - Nitto Terra Grappler G2's (who's running these? How do you like them?)
  • Fix the caster (it seems to be off)
  • 4.88 gears so I can drive in Colorado without rolling backwards
Of course I've got questions and guidance that I'm hoping ya'll can help me out with.

Let's just start with the caster correction:
@flow was generous enough to pass down all of the associated paperwork, and part of that paperwork was an alignment sheet. The previous alignment showed a caster of about .3 with the current ~4" of lift (I can get a more accurate measurement tomorrow).
IMG_20191001_201801.jpg

I've read a couple different ways to get the correct amount of caster. Seems to be bushings, caster correction plates, and new radius arms. I'm not a welder, yet, so I don't think I'll be doing the washer-mod...

I crawled under tonight and snapped some pictures of the current bushings, they are NOT stock and seem to be off-center.
IMG_20191001_195019.jpg

IMG_20191001_195042.jpg

IMG_20191001_195122.jpg

I'm guessing the previous owner(not flow), attempted to correct the caster with bushings. Clearly not enough. My question is, what would you recommend for correcting the caster?