FJZ80 or just 80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

PAW

Threads
Need some help here. Im looking to find a 80 to have completely restmod for a longer trip driver. I have a 62 that I daily drive and a 55. I want to be completely clear I have no mechanical ability so will be having someone do the work. Basically if you have seen the ICON FJZ80, I want something close to that but figure out how to strip out the crazy cost and likely crazy Offroad capability, not proud to say it but family life isn't leading me a trail anytime soon.

Anyway before I bore you all, I want to do a complete job, likely new crate engine, interior, 2-3 inch lift, electronics etc. Im just learning on the 80s but have been drawn to the FJZ. Heres my question: if I am swapping out the engine does it matter so much FJ80 vs FJZ80? Also should I be looking at any other model.

Thanks

80s are usually cheaper than FZJs. Good frames and bodies are found for both.

Honestly, since you're not looking to off-road it, I would suggest a 100 or 200. Far better for road trips and costs are comparable to built 80s, since you're not doing the work yourself.

Yeah but not as special^

Well 100s still have a pretty great presence. Are you looking at something similar to citadels build?

Thanks. Appreciate both comments but has to be an 80

You get airbags in the 94? and post-FZJ but maybe the transmission is more solid in FJs. The bus tranny or whatever. Not sure that matters anyway with the swap though. I guess just sit inside either and see which interior you like better?

It really depends on your budget, how much you want to 'restomod', and what's important to you. Any differences can be overcome with enough money.