Builds 1964 FJ40 Diesel build, 5 speed, vw TDI, 35's....Lets not call it a restoration. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

HandForged

Built Not Bought!
Threads
Let's NOT call this a restoration, so restoration guys beware.

I've been an in the closet Landcruiser guy for many years. This truck represents my third and maybe last build and I figured I would just do what I wanted instead of following some prescribed ideal. I built a rock crawler, did a frame off restoration and now? Well, this one was in need of everything so I thought I would just do what I could to bring it back to life. Being a Master diesel tech, my first thought it always diesel. As a matter of fact I don't own a gas burner. Everything here is diesel so the cruiser gets what I know. I have been a long time fan of the VW 1.9 TD for a good many reasons. Built a few of them and this one is no different. I purchased the FJ40 a little while back wasting away in a field. It's rusty but not terrible. I drug it home and began contemplating something fun to play with. Located the 1996 VW passat locally and was able to make a good trade for it. The W56 Toyota 5 speed I sourced from a friends shop. We're going to say it was acquired with a 5 finger discount as he didn't need it so I loaded it up and brought it home. The big boggers? Well, they too were sourced locally and it was a deal I couldn't pass up although I am not sure I will keep them on the truck. So in the short run here's the plan:

Strip the hard top off and sell it. Fenders, f145, 3 speed and transfer case are also going away. I have no use for them. Clean everything up and cut the rust out, see what we have left to work with. Get the drivetrain in it, get it running again and just go have some fun in the mountains. As winter approaches here in Montana, I'll be spending it fabricating a LOT of parts for this truck here. It's just what I do.