We Boost, has anyone used it... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am interested in the WeBoost cell phone signal enhancer. With me going wheeling without her, in case of emergency or even on a road trip to where there is spotty service I am thinking of getting the Weboost setup.

WeBoost

This is the setup I am looking at. My question is has or does anyone know of anyone that has used this and if so what are your opinions? Before I drop $500 on something and it doesn't work I wanna make sure this is something I want.

Scott

I have no experience with Weboost but you could purchase a used Iridium Go! Device for the same cost which would get you true pole to pole coverage. Iridium GO! Wi-Fi hotspot for iOS and Android smart phones and tablets by Outfitter Satellite Phones

There are consumer grade satellite based products like Garmin's inreach Mini that are about $350 new which allow for location, SOS and texting services and pairs with your phone or tablet via Bluetooth. it is on my short list of offroad gear.
Amazon product ASIN B07CR7PL54

Ffrom what I read on the Weboost site, it boosts an already reachable signal and it makes it stronger in the vehicle. If you have any signal at all, a text will usually get through where a call would not.

I’ve used the WeBoost 4GE OTR booster for about 2 years, with ATT, primarily in remote areas of Nevada... I’m VERY pleased!!

Boosters only boost existent signals... if there’s no signal available, there’s nothing to boost.

I’ve camped/hiked a number of remote locations, with NO signal whatsoever. But, I can generally drive < 10 miles and locate a signal.

I carry a SPOT-X (GPS Text capability) for “no signal” locations and always keep it hanging from a belt loop whenever away from home.

For the WeBoost, pay particular attention to the separation requirements, for the inside and outside antennas.