New FJ owner need lift advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've recently purchased a stock 2008 FJ cruiser and want to bring the front end up to level height but do not want to do it with spacer. I want to do this without sacrificing ride hopefully making it even smoother if possible but will be modifying it with front bumper and winch adding extra weight to the front. I will be putting a steel skid plate underneath replacing the stock plate. The only other weight I may add would be very minimal with ladder on back I do very little off-road so it is mainly for looks. I know it may be questions that I should know but I am a complete newbie and want advice from people who know and will overlook the fact that I am just clueless on how to do it. Also if I decided to replace the 275s on it with 285s would that be possible without scrubbing inside the fenders. Thank you for any advice that is given and I'm glad I found this forum to be able to get advice on my new cruiser

Dont know about your lift question but to answer your second

I have 285/75/16 KO2 on stock wheels, stock truck, no rubbing, looks and works perfectly

Easiest way is Bilstein 5100s, 3rd notch. Does retain the use of the OEM springs. I found it rode no different than stock.

Really depends on your bumper choice if 5100s will be okay or not. Thinking one of those 90 lb. bumpers with no winch? Probably no big deal. An ARB with a winch? You 'gon need some support for that. Heavier springs. You CAN, once the bumper is added, buy some new heavier springs and put them on the same 5100s (but probably back to 1st notch). Downside there is disassembly, reassembly, and another alignment. Again, this all depends on how much weight you plan to add.