97 LC center locking (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Dear friends

I just swap from jeep to Toyota LC and still don't know much. My first question is the 97 LC comes with center differential locking? it is something that I do not understand since all my life I had a Jeep Cherokee XJ with out front and rear lockers.

When I pull the transfer case shaft to Low the lights do not come on the dashboard, what should I do? I am not a mechanic everything is done by a hired mechanic

Thank you

Neto

It should come on in Low gear. Does the ABS light come on in Low gear? Is there a diff switch (button) on your dash?

Also, welcome to MUD :flipoff2:

Congrats on leaving the Jeep world

The switch would look like this and is likely above the climate controls or the radio
s-l640.jpg

It should come on in Low gear. Does the ABS light come on in Low gear? Is there a diff switch (button) on your dash?

Also, welcome to MUD :flipoff2:

Congrats on leaving the Jeep world

The switch would look like this and is likely above the climate controls or the radio
View attachment 1989700
No It doesn’t has that button and the ABS light does not come on

Neto,

your center differential probably has not been used in a while and the lights are taking a while to turn on.

1. The rig is running
2. Step on the brake
3. Put into Neutral
4. Pull the center diff down into low
5. Put the rig into 2nd gear
6. accelerate and you will hear the diff spinning
7. All the dashboard lights should come on after a few seconds to a minute.

Just because the lights don't all come on immediately doesn't mean it's not functioning properly. I've experience up to a minute driving before all the lights on the dash turned on, but the rig was in low and working.

Get back to us and tell us if that worked.

Zona

Welcome to the civilized offroading community where we worry about pink panties and our ever-ballooning GVWR.