EFI to manual injection pump conversion issues (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Folks,

I'm hoping someone here can help me sort this.

I have replaced an EFI pump with a manual pump, I am somewhat new to diesel injection and I'm having problems.

I'm working on a 92 Hilux Surf with a fresh 'early' 2LT motor, I have installed a pump from a 3L.

The problems:

It is a little hard starting and smokes just slightly at an idle, it idles just fine, as soon as I advance the throttle it runs rough and smokes like mad.
How do I identify the problem(s) and repair them?

I can and will add any data anyone needs to help me, I just need to know what to share.

Thanks very much in advance.

as soon as I advance the throttle
Do you mean advance the timing or increase the RPMs?
Was the pump, timing and injector cracking pressure matched?
Has the compression in the engine been checked?

Thanks for responding.

I think the timing is fine (set it with a dial indicator), RPM is a snap so that isn't a concern.
I simply installed the pump (it was used) when I got it, I'm not sure I know how to "Check the injector cracking pressure", the injectors worked fine on the motor I took out.
The engine is a fresh rebuild with zero hours on it, compression I should hope isn't a problem.

I think the first issue to address is the rough running at high RPM and the huge cloud of smoke it yeilds at high RPM, the starting problem would be the last thing to work out if it didn't clear up with a fix for the rough running and smoke issue.

Thanks again

What exact engine (year/model) are your injectors out of? And what exact engine (year/model) is your pump from? I think rosco is onto something. I'm willing to bet the pump pressure is not matched to the injector pressure. If they're not the same, it totally throws injection timing and volume.