Just bought front and rear cable lockers, what next? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I think I just scored a deal of the century, saw a guy selling a front cable locker for the 60 for $325. Went to pick it up and he threw in a rear as well! Front is in a housing, and rear had been laying out in the rain, but I gave it a wire brush last night and turned out better than I expected!

I'm pretty new to diff rebuilds, so asking for some pointers as I start. Going to do front first, as I have a front axle with long spines, and then once that's in, I'll tackle rear (planning on getting my axle machined to get long splines, as I don't think I'll find a long spline axel - my luck is already spent on the lockers!

A few pics, do you guys reckon the ring gear is ok? Not sure the condition of mine - but these don't look too bad.

The bearing where the pinion enters the housing is shot on one of the lockers, I'll plan on pressing it out and putting in a new one. I hear people talking about how precise you need to be when setting these up - backlash and whatnot. Is it better to take this to a diff guy to dial it in? The one that's still complete on the housing - can I remove it and install it in my truck without getting it adjusted?

I'll attach some pics of the rear locker, I also took a video showing the mechanism for interested parties. In searching for one of these I really struggled to find pictures of how the cable locker functioned - I'll be adding a 50mm linear actuator to the housing, and wiring it up - in essence making an Elocker. I'll document the process on a seperate thread - but for now just wondering if anyone has any help to offer as I begin install.