99' LX 470 with 165K - good deal? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Newbie here. I found a decent looking 99 Lx470 with 165K - dealer is asking $5900.

- Some bubbling of the paint on the rear door
- Timing belt replacement unknown
- Spent most of it's life in FL and VA

Is this a decent deal?

What other questions should I be asking? What else should I be thinking about?

I plan on it being my daily driver here in the mountains of western N. Carolina.

Newbie here. I found a decent looking 99 Lx470 with 165K - dealer is asking $5900.

- Some bubbling of the paint on the rear door
- Timing belt replacement unknown
- Spent most of it's life in FL and VA

Is this a decent deal?

What other questions should I be asking? What else should I be thinking about?

I plan on it being my daily driver here in the mountains of western N. Carolina.

Gotta get pics of the undercarriage and status of ahc. You also have to know going in that your gonna have to to timing belt and related parts along with all fluids if you want to get it caught up. But if undercarriage is good it could be a good deal.

Do a real good job of having it checked out. Rust is your biggest enemy, followed by lack of maintenance, especially the AHC system. Timing belt is critical if it breaks, but not being done doesn't damage anything, as long as you replace it. Do a good job of checking it out on a road test, not just around the block. Make sure everything works. The AHC should raise and lower the rig without delay. The price seems tempting, but don't get fooled.

Awesome feedback guys. Thanks a lot. The AHC system seems to be the biggest concern/potential issue in this mileage range. The seller said he "thinks" the AHC works OK. His tone and hesitation were a red flag - the search continues.