My Bolt Stuff On An LX450 "Build" Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

EPIC Cruisers

Supporting Vendor
Threads
Website
www.epiccruisers.com
Hello everyone,

I think I should start by introducing myself and my rig. I purchased my 1997 LX 450 (triple locked w/160K) a few months ago with plans to turn it into an overlanding/camping rig. I'm new to the Land Cruiser world but I'm a huge car guy. Besides the LX I have 2 BMWs, a 1983 528e and a 2007 335xi, along with a Yamaha R3. The old BMW is my baby and the car that taught me how to work on cars. I've restored it mechanically and it was my daily driver up until I bought the LX. The two others are more of my toys and I drive them a week at a time every once in awhile. I'm an Industrial Designer by schooling but an Engineer by profession so needless to say I enjoy taking things apart and fixing them.

I wanted to start this thread as a way to document my "build" and post pictures of cool places I will hopefully discover with the LX.

Here goes nothing...

Initially I was not looking for an 80 series, but instead I was looking for something more affordable around the $2-4K mark. I liked the 80 series styling but I didn't want to spend 80 series money on my first rig. Well that quickly changed when I was searching Facebook Marketplace when I saw this 161,000 mile triple locked LX about 2.5 hours from my town. Originally listed at $8K. The owner didn't state it was triple locked but there was a picture showing the switch.

nWuxvhp.jpg

H6Sll7v.jpg

RxMQFd4.jpg

TU8gDtq.jpg

eORY7D3.jpg

wBR99q6.jpg