New to off-road builds- a little help? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello, Mudders-

I’m new to the whole “building an off-road rig” thing. I’ve been attempting to research and learn, but still have questions. If anyone could help out/offer insight to the Noob, I would appreciate it! The knowledge base here appears rather impressive, so I am confident I'll get off on the right track!

1991 stock FJ80 w/ 3FE. I live in the San Juan mountains here in Colorado, and want to build a rig that will be comfortable and capable for doing the “standard” off-road trails such as Imogene Pass, etc. The plan for the rig is that it will see travel from home within a less than 100 mile radius; if I’m traveling further, it stays home. Slow and steady to/from the destination is OK. My initial plan for the build up is as follows:

* ARB front bumper and some style of rear bumper w/ tire carrier, etc.

* 2.5” OME lift kit (medium duty- can upgrade to heavy duty if the build develops into such things as winch, gear drawers, etc.) Other than the springs/shocks/steering damper are there other components that will need to be upgraded, like longer brake lines, other suspension parts, etc.?

* Add 16x33 wheel/tire package (should I plan on a gearing upgrade? Current stock is 15x31)

* Would like to attempt my own fab. of step-side/slider (need to practice my welding skills!)

* Speaking of welding skills, the exhaust system is just about shot from front to back. Are there any suppliers that offer pre-bent tubes, etc. specifically for my rig?