Overlanding beginner looking for GPS information (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Michael B

SILVER Star
Threads
I'm starting to outfit my rig for overlanding and am looking for a good GPS unit. Recommendations and why would be greatly appreciated.

As a beginner, I would stick with and use regular Google Maps on your phone for on-road maps, and one of (Gaia GPS, Avenza, US Topo apps) for off-road maps. If you need a bigger screen, get a bigger phone or an inexpensive Android tablet. After some use, you'll get to know what you really need on and off road. In my case, I find my phone works great and I don't need anything else.

Last edited:
I use one screen for zoom out, just to know what direction I am driving, and one for actual directions, and even more if a passenger wants to find a place, we search for abandoned military stuff and I really like google maps satellite view and also waze online and sygic offline.
navigate to two spots and end up in the middle:

file.php

I'm starting to outfit my rig for overlanding and am looking for a good GPS unit. Recommendations and why would be greatly appreciated.

Had a member of our group guide us down the Kokopellis trail earlier this year with nothing but his cell phone, Hema explorer, and a windshield mount. Couldn't believe we never got lost once.

I like to keep it simple so I run a Nexus7 and Gaiagps. Routes are easy to find online and a 7 or 8" screen is big enough to see while driving but small enough its not intrusive. I have used it quite a bit and really like it.
cent console.jpg