Still a newb, would like advice on suspension and wheels for my 40? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm in the middle of tearing down my 1981 BJ42 (north american) to do a frame off. This is my first time owning a 40-series and I'm still learning about everything. My truck's wheels and suspension are not stock, but I'm not entirely sure what I have (photos below). It appears to be lifted but I have no idea if this is a 1" or 4" lift. How do I figure that out? It has wider wheels to fit 33x12.50 tires and it appears to have axle extensions on the front axle to give enough clearance for steering. I don't think the lift was high enough for these tires because the P.O. took an angle grinder to the wheel wells to make them large enough for the 33's.

Ultimately, I want to put stock wheels and 33x10.50's on it. I have the money to spend to upgrade the suspension if needed. I'm not doing coil overs because I'm keeping the 3B and I don't need the extra stiffness. What's the ideal lift for 33x10.50's? I think I keep seeing 2.5" as the right lift.

Also the locking hubs aren't stock. Should I go back to stock locking hubs? What are my options for locking hubs that are automatic and don't require me to jump out and lock by hand?

Also, I'm going back to the factory 653 color code (olive), should I go with white or grey wheels? What A/T tires do you recommend? Do you have any pictures of your truck riding on 33x10.50's to show?

Thanks!

2 to 2 1/2 inch lift is plenty for the 33 inch skinny tire. There are repair panels available to repair your wheel well cut outs. Stock rims will fit fine with the size tires you want. Get rid of the wheel spacers while you are at it and the hubs are fine. You don't want any sort of automatic hubs as they almost always do not function as designed, when you most need them to. The stock setup is awesome.