1999 Toyota Land Cruiser with E-Locker. Good platform for an adventure vehicle? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm fairly new to this adventure/overland scene. Basically, I gave myself a budget of 12k for a good off-road/highway cruiser vehicle. I am planning a road trip from Los Angeles to Black Bear Road at the end of this year. I'm going to take a look at this car. Two owners, current owner claims to have all maintenance records, clean title. I feel it is a bit overpriced for the year/miles but I could be wrong. Is there anything specific I need to watch out for in a 1999? I read that they have weaker front diff than 00+. Will this be a problem later on? I don't plan on rock crawling, just mudding/hill climbs. Thanks in advance.

Toyota Land Cruiser Landcruiser with rear E-locker

Last edited:
Seems maybe a bit overpriced. There was a nice one for sale in Anchorage recently with half those miles for a bit over 10K. Yes, it did sell quickly.

I've never been to Black Bear, but from what I gather the challenging aspects are the narrow routes, sharp drop offs and tight switchbacks. A large vehicle like the 100 series doesn't seem ideal for this, but I'm sure some guys have done it.

Leave it stock, see how that works and proceed accordingly. Big mistake to "upgrade" one of these just cuz you can, IMO. Some guys add a locking differential to the front if OEM breaks.

Picked up my '99 with 100k less miles for $10k, so take that for what it's worth. Granted I had to go to Florida to get it, but at that mileage you'll likely be replacing every bushing and joint in the thing, regardless if the maintenance is up to date.