Bought a 1990 HZJ75 Troopy (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

congrats, i have a 1990 1hz troopy as well. per the RHD, i just trained my brain to always use the stalk next to the window, it will always be the turn signal. More pics!

She's at Valley Hybrids getting good once-over before our inaugural roadtrip to Baja. It had a pretty bad fuel leak at the IP, so that's getting rebuilt, along with injectors. It's also getting brakes, transmission/transfer case rebuilt, wheel bearings, and a few other things. This is a good reminder to potential cruiser buyers - don't forget to budget for repairs. I made sure to and I think she'll be very mechanically solid after this.

So I'm about to take my first trip and I'm completely new to the 70 series platform. Are there any tools, particular size sockets/wrenches/spanners, etc that you recommend stay in my tool kit? Spare parts? I've picked up a Gregory's #513 but that's the extent of it so far.

Congrats on the purchase. I assume that this was Nathan's? If so, I texted back and forth with him a bit and he seemed like a really solid guy. I know that he had a challenged getting it titled in CA so I offered help in Oregon but he said he had it sorted with a WA buyer which I assume is you.

That's the one. Good guy for sure.

1 I have found the 235x85x16 the best around tyre size, approx 32 inch. 60 and 70 are the same rims

I had 285/75/R15 BFG KM2 mud terrains on my 60 that I'm going to swap over. They are almost brand new. They're mounted on an aftermarket set of 16x7" ris (3.75" backspace, 0 offset) that just cleared the calipers and tie-rods on my 60. Fingers crossed that they fit and ride well.

Fingers crossed that they fit and ride well.

I think you will be ok , if not a 50mm lift would fix it. If the suspension is original it would be sagging pretty bad by now.

Thanks for bringing the troopy to us to have some work done Dylan!